Just Because I Am Poem

Just Because I Am (11/3/15)

Just because I’m Mexican

Doesn’t mean I speak Spanish fluently

But I am proud of my heritage

Just because I’m a cat person

Doesn’t mean I don’t love dogs too

But I do prefer kitty snuggles

Just because I’m quiet

Doesn’t mean I don’t want or like to talk

But I don’t pollute the air with meaningless words

Just because I have a resting mean face

Doesn’t mean I’m not friendly

But I would prefer if you came up to me first

Just because I am a Southern Baptist Christian

Doesn’t mean I’m arrogant or hateful

But I will stand firm in my faith and beliefs

Just because I’m poor

Doesn’t mean I’m not happy

But I must admit I don’t like seeing my parents stress about money

Just because I’m a positive person

Doesn’t mean I don’t have bad days

But while I don’t focus on the bad things, I don’t forget them either

Just because I’m a goody-two-shoes

Doesn’t mean I follow all the rules

But let’s keep that on the down low

Just because I’m calm

Doesn’t mean there’s never a war being waged within me

But I don’t like to show it

Just because I’m an introvert and like being alone

Doesn’t mean I don’t get lonely

But I do prefer a cat’s company to a person’s

Just because I’m a dork

Doesn’t mean I don’t care what others think of me

But I don’t let what people say get to me

Just because you’ve read this poem

Doesn’t mean you know everything about me

But you are one step closer

Leave a Reply

