“I Am From (My Mother’s POV)” A Poem Written for Fall 2015 Creative Writing Final

I Am From (My Mother’s POV)

 

I am from a hectic household

Two parents, three children, cats

Never enough space or silence

 

I am from unloving parents

Who yelled and yelled

Cast out and never cared

 

I am from straight As

A ghetto, unchallenging school

Is no match for a natural genius

 

I am from poverty

Cheap, hand-me-down clothes

Never enough food or school supplies

 

I am from hard work

Earning money

For wanted nice clothes and books

 

I am from severe insecurity

Near physical death from anorexia

Near emotional death from feeling unloved

 

I am from moving on

Pushing forward

And letting go

Leave a Reply

