“I Am, She Is” A Two-Person Poem

I am the worst

She is the best

I hate my teeth

I love her smile

I’m so fat and ugly

She’s so beautiful

I’m stupid

She’s the smartest person I know

I’m weird

She has the cutest quirks

I’m not funny

She tells the best nerdy jokes

I’m too quiet

She doesn’t pollute the air with useless gossip

I have nothing interesting to say

She says the most profound things

I’m not enough

She’s so much more than ‘enough’

 

Will anyone ever notice my pain?

Will I ever ask her why she hurts?

Will someone ever even acknowledge my existence?

Will I ever have the courage to say ‘hi’?

Will I ever be loved?

Will I ever be brave enough to tell her how I feel?

How much longer can I handle being alone?

How much longer can I handle leaving her alone?

 

I have to punish myself

What are those wounds on her wrists she tries to hide?

For not being enough

Why isn’t she eating anymore?

What else can I do?

What is she doing to herself?

 

I deserve nothing

She deserves the world

Not even life

Where has she gone? Where can I find her?

I am nothing

She is my everything, I must tell her

Not even alive

I found her too late

 

 

 

To see me read this poem with a friend, go to this link: https://youtu.be/eP4TEw-gT34

One thought on ““I Am, She Is” A Two-Person Poem

Leave a Reply

