“Do They Know I Love Them?” A Poem

Do They Know I Love Them?

Does he know I love him?

Does she know I love her?

 

Does he know I love him when I cook him dinner?

Does she know I love her when I eat her slightly burnt food?

 

Does he know I love him when I sing our song at the top of my lungs?

Does she know I love her when I quietly sing along?

 

Does he know I love him when I clean up after him?

Does she know I love her when I promise to help next time?

 

Does he know I love him when I watch action films with him?

Does she know I love her when I watch rom-coms with her?

 

Does he know I love him when I nag at him?

Does she know I love her when I ignore her?

 

Does he know I love him when I cry into his shirt?

Does she know I love her when I stroke her hair?

 

Does he know I love him when I let him buy a new Xbox game?

Does she know I love her when I let her buy a new Coach purse?

 

Does he know I love him when I let my cat sleep between us in bed?

Does she know I love her when I refuse to give her cat second breakfast?

 

Does he know I love him when I slip little notes into his lunch?

Does she know I love her when I slip Hershey Kisses into her work bag?

 

Does he know I love him when I’m being irrational?

Does she know I love her when I misunderstand?

 

Does he know I love him when I kiss him awake?

Does she know I love her when I kiss her goodnight?

 

Does he know I love him when I leave his dog outside all day?

Does she know I love her when I let my dog chase her cat up a tree?

 

Does he know I love him when I text him first every day?

Does she know I love her when I rarely text first?

 

Does he know that I know he loves me?

Does she know that I know she loves me?

 

 

Go to this link to see me read this poem with a friend (video will be live 7/9/16): https://youtu.be/mgbctX08354

Leave a Reply

