“Constant Companion”

Constant Companion

Ah, you’re back, I see

My constant companion

Back from holiday

Or whatever it was

I must admit

I did not miss you

While you were away

Oh, don’t cry

You have no right to cry

Let me explain myself

When you,

My constant companion,

Are away

I feel lighter

Things that should make me break

Merely make me flinch

I can smile

And dream of a bright future

But now

You’re here

Again assuming your role

As my constant companion

Bearing down on my chest

Whispering terribly lovely ideas in my ear

Squeezing tears out of my eyes

Reminding me of how truly alone I am

Constant companion

You really should go on holidays more often

I don’t know what this last one was for

All I know

Constant companion

Is that we are happier without each other

At least

I am without you

And I know

That we should probably

Break up

Just like I did

With him

Leave a Reply

