And That Vow

And That Vow

(her)                                                                       (both)                                                                          (him)

I walked into the room

I looked around, feeling nothing, as always

I spun around, dazed by all the beautiful costumes

And the ladies that wore them

I didn’t want to be there.

Why must I attend every party?

I’d always wanted to go there

To one of those parties

As I walked around

I locked eyes with someone

Who would change my life

Forever

At first glance

I could tell she was an angel

More beautiful and perfect

Than any other

At first glance

I could tell he was a womanizer

More revolting and deceptive

Than any other

Pure emotion welled up

Hate

Love

It has never been this strong before

If I felt hate for the others

Then this was pure loathing

If I felt love for the others

Then this was unparalleled passion

With the others

I had dealt with

It was more of a

Dislike

I had been with

It was more of a

Lust

But this feeling made me swear

To kill him

To marry her

And that vow

Was broken

Go to this link to see me read this poem with a friend (video goes live 7/16/16): https://youtu.be/W5WOwSvUm9w

Leave a Reply

