“Behind” / PoP 9 / Back to School

Behind (9/12/14)

Behind locked windows

Behind closed doors

It is very cold

 

Behind locked doors

Behind closed windows

I am

            all

                     alone

 

There is a beast

Roaming the halls

Of the castle

                         I made

                                        Inside

 

Outside locked windows

Outside closed doors

I put on a smile

 

Outside locked doors

Outside closed windows

The beast makes no

                                         appearance

 

But inside the walls

Of my beautiful

Castle

 

The beasts roars

                                  and roars


Hello everyone, it is back to school where I’m from! To celebrate this, I decided to pull up a poem that I wrote at the start of my tenth grade year. The beginning of 10th grade was very stressful for me. I had my first AP class, AP World History, that I had no idea how I would deal with. Whenever I was around people, I would pretend to be okay. I wanted my family and classmates to know that we could survive this year! But on the inside, I was freaking out just as much as the rest of them. So, I went to the counselor. She helped me talk through why I was overwhelmed, then she gave me some tips on how to calm down and how to take notes in class. After that, I felt much, much better! I want all of you reading this to know that while the beginning of the year is hard, it will get better if you don’t hesitate to ask for help. Never be afraid to go to your school counselor for anything!

 

To hear me read this poem and talk about this, please go to this link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04fyyJ6fSzk

Don’t forget to follow this blog and subscribe to my YouTube channel!

Leave a Reply

