“Abandoned” / PoP 11

Abandoned

 

Please

Don’t leave me

On the curb

Where no one

Will give me

A second glance

 

Please

Don’t abandon me

Just because

She wants you too

 

Please

Do your best

To keep me close

And away

From the empty curb

 

Please

Don’t leave me alone

And force me

To relive

Those years

Of pain


I wrote this poem back in seventh grade during the midst of drama. I had a friend, we’ll call her B, who was besties with a bully, M. M hurt B emotionally and physically. I was always there to help B get back up, but she always went back to M. When I wrote this poem, B had been spending a lot of time with M and I was afraid that she would leave me forever.

To hear/watch me talking about this and suicide awareness month, go to this video!

Leave a Reply

