Weight Loss Journey Week 4: Weight Watchers Points Plus

166.8 pounds

Up .2

Total Net Loss: 1.4 lbs

My sister’s birthday was this past week, which means I ate cake. Every day. For four days. That is how I gained this week. But it won’t happen again, because I have started doing the Weight Watchers Point Plus system.

I started doing it last Monday. I didn’t pay for the program, but instead downloaded a free WWPP calculator app on my phone. Every day I get 30 points, 10 for each meal. I plug in the nutritional values for what I eat, it tells me the points, and I log them. Unfortunately the free version only lets you save the values for about 10 or 15 foods, so I have made my own list that I keep on my phone. Healthy foods cost less points, so you can eat more of it, and junk foods cost more points.

I did this system to lose 40 lbs back in 2015, and it worked! It’s better than just counting calories because it takes into account what is actually in the food, and it lets you eat whatever you want, as long as you don’t go over your points. I loved having the freedom to eat what I want while still watching my food intake at the same time.

Where I went wrong this past week was not counting points for my dinners, especially Thursday and Friday, and all day Saturday and Sunday.

Personal story time!

In the days leading up to this week’s weigh in, I thought a lot about what I did last time I used WWPP.

In 2015, I started to lose weight in March or April, around the same time I started talking to  a boy named Matthew. I’ll post our full story later, and for now I’ll just focus on the parts relevant to my weight loss.

Essentially he made me feel beautiful, like he would love me no matter what. I felt secure in who I was and what I looked like. Because I was so happy, I didn’t eat junk food as often.

Sounds odd, doesn’t it? I was happy so I ate healthy? Whhaa?? But it does make sense when you take into account the fact that I am an emotional eater. I eat when I’m sad, angry, bored, jealous, lonely, etc. So when I was just happy, I didn’t feel the need to eat as much. When I was bored, I texted him. When I needed self assurance, I fished for a compliment. When I started to feel jealous, I reminded myself of my amazing boyfriend.

It was incredibly easy for me to follow the WWPP system because I never felt the need to eat bad food or go over my point limit. Now, however, it is a lot harder. I’m single and 20 lbs heavier than when I was with Matthew. I struggle with loneliness because I know what it’s like to not be lonely. Prayer helps a lot, but there are still some days when I just want to eat a whole box of Girl Scout Cookies because I can’t call up my best friend. Back then, my thought process usually went “I could eat those cookies, but I don’t need to. I’m happy without them.” Today my thoughts go “I could eat those cookies, and I am because no one can stop me and I want them.” If we go a little deeper, the thought is “I am going to eat those cookies because I’m sad and they’ll make me happy.” But the thing is, neither cookies or boyfriends are what I need to fill my heart. God is.

When I pray that God will help me with my self esteem and loneliness, that He will help me live loved, that He will give me the strength to make the right decisions, it’s a lot easier to choose a salad over pizza.

In short, WWPP system is great as long as you follow it, watch your sugar intake, and  ask God for strength.

Leave a Reply

