Weight Loss Journey Week 6: A Lifestyle, Not A Diet

Measuring Starting Last Today Total Change
Weight (lbs) 167 165.8 164.8 – 2.2
Arms (in)
Bust (in)
Waist (in)
Hips (in)
Thighs (in)

Ooo, look, a new fancy chart! After seeing this Instagram post from a family friend, I figured I shouldn’t just be weighing my progress in pounds lost. As Laura points, out, you can actually gain weight and be smaller because of muscle. Muscle weighs more than fat. According to livestrong.com, one liter of muscle weighs 2.3 lbs while one liter of fat weighs 1.98 lbs.

With this in mind, I am planning on starting to keep track of the measurements in the chart. I will be taking the starting measurements on Sunday, February 19th. I think I will be better able to see my progress. Of course, I will probably only see a change akin to Laura’s if I keep up a healthy lifestyle like Laura has, which brings me to the main point of this week’s post.

Over the past week or so, I’ve come to realize that I probably can turn this ‘diet’ into a lifestyle. I used quotes on diet because dieting the way we know it doesn’t really exist. Your diet is what you eat in your day to day life, and you can change your diet to achieve different goals and for different purposes. If I change the purpose of my diet from trying to lose weight to being healthy, I will be changing my lifestyle. Instead of going through periods of gaining and losing weight, I’ll just be making healthier choices every single day and monitoring the physical changes. But why do I think I can exercise and eat healthy for the rest of my life? To find that answer, you need only look back at my weekly posts.

Since the beginning of this year, I’ve made a lot of revelations about myself while planning and writing these posts. I’ve realized that I like to exercise. I’ve realized that I like salads and vegetables. I’ve realized that I can manage my emotional eating. These three realizations have led me to believe that I can do this for life. I like riding my bike and doing weight training, so why stop? I like eating salads and trying new healthy recipes, so why stop? There is no reason to stop, so I won’t.

Once I graduate from high school, I will need to make my own time to workout. But they have us write down all of our workouts, so I have a few years worth of stuff to do. I will also need to make more of an effort to eat healthy meals since I will be the one making them. But with my mother’s list of healthy recipes and awesome budgeting skills, I’m sure I’ll be able to choose healthy foods.

To conclude, my ‘diet’ is now officially a lifestyle change. I will still be tracking my progress and various changes I make through these weekly blogs until I graduate. But instead of focusing on losing weight, I will be focusing on making sustainable changes to my life.

Leave a Reply

