Weight Loss Journey Week 11: Gotta Gain It To Lose It

Weight: 163.6

Gained 2.8 pounds over spring break

Even though I had a week with no school, I still had no time to really plan out this post, as per usual, so I’m just going to do whatever comes to mind about how this last week went.

The first three days of spring break were great. I was exercising and eating well. I was still losing weight. Then Pi Day, March 14, came around. I had pizza and made three cookie pies. The next five days were high calories days, which is a nice way of saying I ate a lot. I ate my cookie pies and ice cream. I had candy during family movies. I did have grilled chicken when we went out to eat, but I also had a butt load of mozzarella sticks and rolls.

So now I am way off where I should be at this point, and I’m trying not to beat myself up too much about it. As I have mentioned in previous posts, we need to treat ourselves from time to time. We shouldn’t feel bad about having fun with our family over good foods. We shouldn’t cheat every day, and not with every meal, but sometimes and perfectly okay.

Spring break is over, I’m back at school. This should make it easier to eat well, since don’t eat at home. Breakfast and lunch are supplied by school, and dinner comes from my grandmother. I always have a few choices with each meal, but all the choices are healthy and portioned out for me.

This makes me wonder about what will happen in college, when it is up to me to decide what I want. I will really have to start disciplining myself when I am not at school to practice making good choices. Most weekends I am able to make good choices, but it can be hard when my mom bakes, or it’s someone’s birthday, or when we go see a movie, or when my siblings are stressing me out. At college there is going to be a lot of free junk food, unlimited junk food in the cafeteria, and a  lot of new stress. I will need to really make an effort to eat salad even when I want to cry over fried chicken and ice cream. I will have to learn to ration the free sweets.

I have no doubt that I can do this, it’s just a matter of wanting to.

And I mean, you have to gain it to lose it, so why not get that ice cream…

Leave a Reply

