Weight Loss Journey Week 12: Just Keep Swimming

Weight: 162.8 lbs

Total Loss: 4 lbs

Today my focus has been on not giving up when I eat bad.

On Tuesday, March 21, I had home sick with a cold and really wanted cookie dough. Lucky for me, we had a pint cookie dough ice cream in the deep freezer. I planned on eating one serving, which was 250 calories, and having a salad for dinner. I opened up the carton and saw… vanilla ice cream. No cookie dough in sight. I thought, maybe there just isn’t anything right on top. I’ll just scoop out my serving and everything should be fine. The ice cream was rock hard, so warmed it up a little bit. The sides had melted enough so that the entire pint lifted up out of the carton. And you know what I saw? Plain vanilla ice cream! No cookie dough! Then I thought I would just eat a serving out of the carton, surely there must be pieces of something in the middle. I ended up eating the entire thing, all 1000 calories, in search of the cookie dough. I found just four or five measly pieces. But it was worth it.

After that, I ate whatever I wanted, and ended up eating about 3,000 calories worth of food throughout the entire day.

The rest of the week wasn’t as bad as that, but it still wasn’t the best. I kept just wanting to give in and eat everything. But I didn’t.

Even though I did have more high calories days than I wanted, I didn’t eat absolutely everything I wanted to. I got more on track as the week went on, and I ended up still losing a pound.

The moral of this story? Don’t give up. When you cheat, instead of beating yourself up and/or quitting, just say ‘ok, that wasn’t the best decision, but I know I can make better choices if I keep trying.” We all stumble on our way to our goals. We just have to remember that we can always pick ourselves up and keep going.

Leave a Reply

