Weight Loss Journey Week 13: General Update

Weight: 162.8

Once again, I have failed to actually plan what to write. I’ve been more focused on my new creative writing blog that I’m doing with my friend Judi over at jaboutofcontext.wordpress.com On our blog, we give each other sentences out of context that we’ve heard or read in our life and write a piece that uses that sentence. Judi posts on Mondays, and I post on Thursdays. We give the other person their sentence after we make our post. I’ve been more focused on writing for that blog recently.

Anyway, on to a general weight loss update.

Losing weight is hard. It is hard to choose healthy food or to say no to free junk food, especially when you’re stressed like I’ve been. This past week I’ve been freaking out about my Capstone project. I don’t remember if I’ve mentioned it before. I’m essentially starting a kitten foster program at my school. The kittens are coming tomorrow, so I’ve had to put a lot of work into getting everything ready. We actually still aren’t 100% ready because we need to get the right kitten food! *siiiigh* But it’s okay. I have that trip planned for today and then we will be ready. Everything is okay now. But last week…

Until last Thursday, I was not the president of the group. I was just the Biomed department head, but I was doing the job of the president. That stressed me out because I did not have the authority to tell the group to do their work and the president wasn’t telling them to do their work so nothing was getting done – except for what I was doing. I finally went and talked to the president, and she immediately let me become president, as long as she could be vice-president. It went a lot smoother than expected, actually.

But the days leading up to that conversation were stressful, and Blizzards were  buy one get one free at Diary Queen so I got a Blizzard on Wednesday. And two on Friday. And two more over the weekend… All the blizzards were delicious, but also the reason why I did not lose any weight this week.

I also have this problem with asking my mom “Should I have this?” and she’ll go “If you want it,” meaning it’s my choice, and I’ll go “Oh no, my mom said I have to eat it…” and then I’ll eat the thing. I reason to myself that it’s okay because my mom said it’s okay, but my mom is just giving me the freedom to make my own choices. I could always choose to not eat the thing, or to eat a healthier thing. I just… don’t.

My plan to combat this is to start telling myself “I don’t want it. I don’t need it. I won’t have it.” I’ve done this before, and I believe it did help. But I also had a boyfriend at the time, and we’ve already talked about how that affected my weight loss… Anyway, I’m going to start that mantra again. And I’ll ask myself “Am I hungry? No, so I’ll wait to eat.” If I’ve already eaten, I’ve give my stomach time to tell my brain it’s full before just going back for seconds. I’m also going to stop eating after 7:00. Thanks to both of my grandmothers, I always have dinner before 7pm, so there is no reason to be eating after that. I’m also going to stop snacking just to have something to do with my hands while I watch Netflix or YouTube. Instead, I’m going to start knitting more. I have a few projects going right now, so that shouldn’t be too hard.

Hopefully, with all of these adjustments, I will get back on track and start losing weight again.

Leave a Reply

